Coverart for item
The Resource Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse

Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse

Label
Take this man : a memoir
Title
Take this man
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Brando Skyhorse
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth. When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of 'Brando Skyhorse,' the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin. Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last. From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his 'indelible storytelling' (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
  • 818/.603
  • B
Index
no index present
LC call number
  • PS3619.K947
  • PS3619.K947
LC item number
  • Z468 2014
  • Z468 2014
Literary form
non fiction
Label
Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
876368008
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781439170878
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2013047740
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (CaEvSKY)sky259412003
  • (OCoLC)876368008
Label
Take this man : a memoir, Brando Skyhorse
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
876368008
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781439170878
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2013047740
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (CaEvSKY)sky259412003
  • (OCoLC)876368008

Library Locations

    • Crystal Community LibraryBorrow it
      221 Lake Street, Crystal, MI, 48818, US
      43.211344 -85.074678

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...